What is Archiving vs Deleting in Google Mail?

Audience: Faculty, Staff and Students

This KB Article References: Google Mail
This Information is Intended for: Faculty, Staff, Students
Last Updated: March 22, 2017

When trying to wrangle your email, follow these tips for deciding when to delete vs archive an email. And if an email is truly spam or phishing, report it.

Delete Google Mail Delete button

When you delete an email it is moved to your trash bin for 30 days. At the end of the 30 days, the email is gone for good.

Use for: Email you know you will never need again

Archive Google mail archive button 

If you archive an email, it will be removed from your inbox, but you will always have it under All Mail. Archinging is a useful feature that allows you to unclutter your inbox but keep emails for future access. The archived email can be located under All Mail and any labels assigned to the email.

Use for: Email you want to remove from your inbox but keep in All Mail so you can search for it in the future.

Watch this short video Archiving vs. Deleting (YouTube 1:16).

Additional Information


Files & Links

Getting Help


The Division of Information Technology provides support on all of our services. If you require assistance please submit a support ticket through the IT Service Management system.

Submit A Ticket

Supported By


Customer Engagement and Support