Sharing Settings in Google Drive

Audience: Faculty, Staff and Students

This KB Article References: Google Drive
This Information is Intended for: Faculty, Staff, Students
Last Updated: March 22, 2017

By default, items you store or create in Google Drive are private only to you. However, you can change that. Using these sharing and visibility options, you can ensure that only the people you want to see, edit, or comment on your files are able to:

  • For each item in your Google Drive, you can choose between overall item visibility (i.e., who can see it: Private (only accessible by those it's directly shared with), Anyone with the link, Public on the web, Anyone at Stony Brook with a Google Account) and personal sharing, where you give specific people/person access to the document.
  • When you share directly with someone, you can determine what access they have: edit, view only, or comment only access.
  • See more on sharing with someone that does not have a Stony Brook University Google Account

Learn more about Google Drive Sharing

Additional Information


There are no additional resources available for this article.

Getting Help


The Division of Information Technology provides support on all of our services. If you require assistance please submit a support ticket through the IT Service Management system.

Submit A Ticket

Supported By


Customer Engagement and Support