Sharing an @stonybrook.edu Google Calendar

Audience: Clubs, Faculty, Researchers, Staff, Students and Teaching Assistants

This KB Article References: Google Calendar
This Information is Intended for: Clubs, Faculty, Researchers, Staff, Students, Teaching Assistants
Last Updated: March 30, 2017

Google Calendars can be shared with other users giving them various levels of access depending on how you share the calendar.

Restrictions on Sharing @stonybrook.edu Google Calendars

You can share your @stonybrook.edu Google calendars within Stony Brook University and outside. However, there are some restrictions for sharing your primary Stony Brook Google Calendar outside of the Stony Brook domain. 

Primary Calendars

  • You can share your primary work calendar (the one with your name on it) with other @stonybrook.edu Google email addresses at any level of sharing. So you can give others at Stony Brook access to view or edit your events, for example.
  • You can share your primary calendars with those outside the @stonybrook.edu Google domain only at the free/busy level. That is, if you want to share your first.last@stonybrook.edu Google Calendar with a gmail account, the gmail account will only be able to see when your calendar is busy, not any specific events.
  • If you want to view a personal gmail calendar and your primary first.last@stonybrook.edu calendar on the same screen, share your personal calendar with your @stonybrook.edu account.

Secondary Calendars

  • Secondary calendars that you've created (e.g., a project calendar) can be shared within or outside the @stonybrook.edu Google domain at any level. So you can share a Google Calendar you created with a gmail account so the gmail account can see all events details or even edit events.

Share a Calendar

  1. Go to your Google Calendar at go.stonybrook.edu/gcal and hold your mouse over the name of the calendar you want to share. Click the down arrow to the right, and then click Share this Calendar
  2. The Share this Calendar page will display
  3. Under Share this calendar with others, you can share your calendar automatically with everyone or everyone within the Stony Brook Domain. Select the options below that match your desired sharing level (to share with specifc people, see step 4)
    I want my calendar to be private Uncheck "Share this Calendar with Others"
    I want to share my calendar with everyone outside of the SBU domain Check "Make this Calendar Public"
    I want to share my calendar with everyone outside of the SBU domain, but I do not want them to see the specifics of my event (I just want them to know that I am busy). Check "Make this Calendar Public", select "See only free/busy"
    I want to share my calendar with everyone within the SBU domain. Check "Share this calendar with everyone in the organization", select "See all event details"
    I want to share my calendar with everyone within the SBU domain, but I do not want them to see the specifics of my event (I just want them to know that I am busy). Check "Share this calendar with everyone in the organization", select "See only free/busy"
  4. You can also change your settings so that only specific people can view/edit your calendar. Under "Share with Specific People" enter the email of the person you want to share it with.  
    1. Once you've added someone by email, change their access by selecting the appropriate "Permission Settings" to the right of that individual's name. The settings are as follows:
      • Make changes AND manage sharing - allows the person you're sharing with to edit all the events in the calendar, response to event invitations, and see all details (including for private events), as well as share it with others
      • Make changes  - this allows the person you're sharing with to edit all the events in the calendar, response to event invitations, and see all details (including for private events)
      • See all event details - this allows the person you're sharing with to view all the details (name, location, guests, date/time) for all events in this calendar (but not for events marked private)
      • See only free/busy - this allows the person you're sharing the calendar with to only be able to see when you are busy; they will not be able to see any event details nor make any changes
  5. Once you are done changing your sharing settings, click "Save" at the bottom of the screen. 

Watch this video for more information.

 

Additional Information


Files & Links

Getting Help


The Division of Information Technology provides support on all of our services. If you require assistance please submit a support ticket through the IT Service Management system.

Submit A Ticket

Supported By


Customer Engagement and Support