Sharing a Google Document

Audience: Faculty, Staff and Students

This KB Article References: Google Drive
This Information is Intended for: Faculty, Staff, Students
Last Updated: March 22, 2017

Google Drive easily allows you to share documents, almost like emailing an attachment to someone except sharing gives you the option to set whether those you share with can edit, comment on, or only view your document (learn more). Note that in most cases, you must be the owner to share a document.

There are two ways to share a document: From the Drive home screen or by opening the document

To Share a Document from the Google Drive Home Screen

  1. Sign in to your Google account (www.stonybrook.edu/mycloud)

  2. click on Drive (in the black Google bar at the top)
  1. click on the checkbox to the left of the document you wish to share
     
  1. click theshare button button near the top
  2. in the Invite people box, type in the email address(es) of those you want to give access to this document
  3. after the email address(es) are entered, click on can edit ▼ to alter the level of access you want to grant (Can editCan comment, or Can view)

IMPORTANT: notice the sentence on the bottom of the Share window, indictating that by defaultIf you, as owner, don’t want to allow this, click Change > select Only the owner can change the permissions > Save

  1. you can choose to send an email to notify recipients that you are sharing a document with them. To do so, be sure there is a check in  and then click on Add message to compose a message.
  1. once completed, click on  to share the document.  

To share a document from an opened Google Document:

  1. Open the Google Document that you want to share
  2. On the top right-hand corner, click on  
  3. Type in the email address(es) of those you want to give access to this document (note: recipients must have a Google/gmail account to access document)  
  4. After the email address(es) are entered, click on can edit ▼ to alter the level of access you want to grant (Can editCan comment, or Can view)

     

IMPORTANT: notice the comment on the bottom of the Share window, indictating that by defaultIf you, as owner, don’t want to allow this, click Change > select Only the owner can change the permissions > Save

  1. After you select the level of access, you can choose to send an email to notify recipients that you are sharing a document with them.  To do so, be sure there is a check in  and then click on Add message to compose a message.
  2. Once completed, click on  to share the document.  

Additional Information


There are no additional resources available for this article.

Getting Help


The Division of Information Technology provides support on all of our services. If you require assistance please submit a support ticket through the IT Service Management system.

Submit A Ticket

Supported By


Customer Engagement and Support