Seeing Different Events When Two People View Same Calendar

Audience: Staff

This KB Article References: Google Calendar
This Information is Intended for: Staff
Last Updated: March 29, 2017

When a calendar owner shares his/her calendar with assistant(s), they may see different views of the owner's calendar. That is, calendar settings include an option that will only show the calendar owner events that have been responded to, while the calendar assistant(s) would see all events. 

This will be true if the calendar owner selects the Automatically add invitations to my calendar setting as No, only show invitations to which I have responded:

images shows the calendar setting for automatically adding invitations to calendar

Specifically, if No is selected, when the owner is invited to an event, s/he will not see the event/invitation on his/her calendar until someone (the owner or an assistant) responds to it. However, assistant(s) will see the event on their view of the owner's calendar; the event will have the image of reply arrow icon, indicating that it needs to be responded to: 

image of an invitation on google calendar that needs to be replied to

Once someone respondes to the event, it will also show on the owner's view of his/her calendar. 

Change This Setting

  1. From Google Calendar, click on the gear in the top-right corner
  2. Click on Settings
  3. Scroll down to Automatically add invitations to my calendar
  4. View and/or change your setting or click onimage of question mark for more help on automatically adding invitations to calendarto learn more about this feature

Additional Information


There are no additional resources available for this article.

Getting Help


The Division of Information Technology provides support on all of our services. If you require assistance please submit a support ticket through the IT Service Management system.

Submit A Ticket

Supported By


Customer Engagement and Support