Permanently Deleting a document

"Deleting" a document just moves it to the recycle bin. If you want to permanently delete a document you will need to delete it from the recycle bin. 

Audience: Clubs, Faculty, Researchers, Staff, Students and Teaching Assistants

This KB Article References: SharePoint
This Information is Intended for: Clubs, Faculty, Researchers, Staff, Students, Teaching Assistants
Last Updated: February 06, 2017

1. Moving a Document to the Recycle Bin

Note: If you want to delete a document, you must first close all windows in which that document is open.

  1. Sign into SharePoint and navigate to your library
  2. If you want to delete a single document, simply right click the document and select "Delete"
    • If you want to delete multiple documents, click the check boxes next to each document, click More, then Delete
  3. You'll get a warning about moving these files to the Recycle Bin, click OK
  4. If you receive an error message - you'll need to close all windows with the document open and repeat steps 1-3

At this point the document isn't deleted, it's just in the recycle bin, and it can still be restored back to its original folder

2. Permanently Deleting a File

Warning: If you do this - the file will be gone forever, it CANNOT be restored after this point

  1. Click on the gear next to your name (top right)
  2. Click on "Site Contents"
  3. Click on "Recycle Bin"
  4. Mouse over the file and click the circle to select it
    • You can click the check at the top to select all files
  5. Click Delete 

     

Additional Information


There are no additional resources available for this article.

Getting Help


The Division of Information Technology provides support on all of our services. If you require assistance please submit a support ticket through the IT Service Management system.

Submit A Ticket

Supported By


DoIT Training and Development