Students: 200 days (approximately 6 months) after you are no longer registered for classes, it is likely that you will lose access to your computer accounts.
Emeritus Faculty: NetID's will not be deactivated.
Deactivation is determined by the following Business Rule for students:
Accounts are disabled 200 days after the last class meeting date or the latest effective date of registering in PeopleSoft, whichever one is more recent. Accounts can no longer be accessed once they are disabled. Accounts inactive for more than 93 consecutive days are deleted.
If you complete your last course, the 200 days goes by the last class meeting date.
However, if you dropped all of your courses, the 200 days would start accumulating from the latest effective date of registering for the current semester.
If your University records are in error, please contact the Registrar's Office.
If you would like to retain old emails, documents, and other relevant materials, follow this guide:
If you would like to retain documents and other course materials after you graduate or leave the University, you must download the desired files to your computer prior to your NetID being deactivated. Once your NetID is deactivated, or the course is no longer available, you will not be able to access course documents and other files. (Note: documents and other course materials are the intellectual property of the course instructor.)
Currently, if you have created an ePortfolio using Digication, you will be able to take it with you once you graduate. You can log into Digication here. If you are unable to log in, click the "Log in as alumni" link with the same username and password.
All Google Apps for Education accounts require NetID authentication, and as a result, once your NetID is deactivated, you will no longer be able to access your Google Apps for Education account. If you would like to have an Alumni Google Apps account created for you, you will need to log into the Alumni Association's website and request an account. To request your Alumni Google Apps account, click here.
Google allows you to create an archive (using Google Takeout) of all of your Google Apps for Education data (or select data) if you choose. This allows you to take all of your desired documents, calendars, mail and more at once. For more information on creating your archive, click here.
If you would like to take your Google Calendar events with you when you leave the University, you will need to export your events from your Stony Brook University Google Apps account and import your events into a personal Google account. To find out how, click here.
If you would like to take your Google Contacts with you when you leave the University, you will need to export your contacts from your Stony Brook University Google Apps account for use in other contact management applications. To find out how, click here.
Documents saved on your Google Drive can be shared with another Google account, but ownership of Google Documents cannot be shared with Google accounts outside of the @stonybrook.edu domain. To take your files with you when you graduate or otherwise leave the University, you will need to download the documents from your Google Drive onto your computer. To find out how to download your files, click here. If you would like to upload your files back onto a personal Google Drive account, click here.
Emails sent to your Google Apps for Education account can be taken with you when you leave the University. If you would like to take your emails with you, click here for more information.
Ownership of simple websites you've created with Google Sites can be shared with a personal Google account you have, ensuring that your Google Site is functional even after your NetID (and subsequently your Google Apps for Education account) is deactivated. To do this, you must share ownership of your site with your personal (@gmail.com) account and then copy the site to your personal account. To find out how to move your Google Site off the Stony Brook University domain, click here.
In order to access content on Lynda.com, you need an active NetID. Once your account has been deactivated, you will not be able to access any online tutorials from Lynda.com.
Once your NetID is deactivated, you will lose access to your MySBfiles and will be unable to retrieve your files. To prevent this, you must download any desired files before your NetID is deactivated. For more information on how to download files from your MySBfiles, please click here.
If you have created surveys using Qualtrics and wish to take your data with you, you must do so before your NetID is deactivated. Once your NetID has been deactivated, you will no longer be able to create or deploy new surveys. If you would like to download/export data you have compiled through Qualtrics, please click here for more information.
Students may maintain access to their SB You websites after they graduate, provided they first request an alumni email account through the Alumni Association. Please see instructions for how students can keep an SB You website for life. Otherwise, if you want to take the blog or website content with you that you created in SB You, you will need to export your content to WordPress.com before your NetID expires.
Students who download Microsoft Office applications from the Office365 Portal should know that once their NetID is deactivated access to Word, Excel, PowerPoint, etc., will be restricted. Prior to NetID deactivition, students may download Office 2016 and Office for Mac 2016 from onthehub.com for continued access of their Microsoft Office applications free of charge.