Understanding Add-to-Calendar Invitations in Google Calendar

Audience: Faculty, Staff and Students

This KB Article References: Google Calendar
This Information is Intended for: Faculty, Staff, Students
Last Updated: April 03, 2017

You will see the "Add to Calendar" link if:

  • The invite was sent to a Google group for which the sender did not have permissions to view group membership (if you are managing the Google group, you can change this setting)

  • The invite was sent to a Google group with more than 100 members

  • The invite was sent from another calendaring system.

If you receive an event with an "Add to Calendar" link, be aware that updates to the original event will not automatically change the event on your calendar. In most cases, you will receive an update by email with another Add to Calendar link. You should add the new event and delete the old one from your calendar. The Yes/Maybe/No buttons below the Add to Calendar link will not work (they are just Gmail's interpretation of the .ics attachment that is on every calendar invitation). You will get an error message saying that email invitations cannot be forwarded.

Additional Information


There are no additional resources available for this article.

Getting Help


The Division of Information Technology provides support on all of our services. If you require assistance please submit a support ticket through the IT Service Management system.

Submit A Ticket

Supported By


Customer Engagement and Support