Understanding Conversation View in Google Mail

Audience: Faculty, Staff and Students

This KB Article References: Google Mail
This Information is Intended for: Faculty, Staff, Students
Last Updated: June 13, 2018

Conversation view is a Google Mail setting that allows you to set whether emails of the same subject are grouped together. It shows you how the conversation evolved, and you do not have to open several emails to follow the conversation or go searching for a message you may have already read and responded to.

By default, Conversation view is turned on in Google Mail; you can turn it on/off in settings. Note that in new Gmail, the Snooze function only works with Conversation view On.

About Conversation View (turned on)

  1. Conversation view stacks messages with the first (oldest) at the top and the last (newest) at the bottom
  2. When you open a conversation, it may be collapsed; click on the "x older messages" lines to expand the group and see who said what, when. Then, click on any message in this list to read the full response and click it again to close it.
    1. collapsed:
    2. opened:
    3. Or, to expand all messages in a conversation click the Expand all button on the top right of the screen

 

Change the Conversation View Setting

  1. Sign into Google Mail at www.stonybrook.edu/mycloud with your NetID and NetID password
  2. Click on the gear icon in the top right corner and select Settings
  3. Scroll down to Conversation View; select Conversation view off or Conversation view on
  4. Scroll to the bottom of the page and select Save Changes

Learn more

Note: To use Snooze in new Gmail as of June 2018, you need to have Conversation view on

Additional Information


Files & Links

Getting Help


The Division of Information Technology provides support on all of our services. If you require assistance please submit a support ticket through the IT Service Management system.

Submit A Ticket

Supported By


Customer Engagement and Support