Moving Files from Google My Drive to a Google Shared Drive

This KB Article References: Google Drive
This Information is Intended for:
Last Updated: July 15, 2022
Average Rating: Not Rated
Your feedback is important to us, help us by logging in to rate this article and provide feedback.

A Shared Drive (*formerly called Team Drive) is a place where departments or official student groups can create, store, and search files, without having to manage who owns what because the team owns the files, not individuals. And if someone with access to the Shared Drive leaves the team, the files stay in the Shared Drive. You can belong to multiple Shared Drives, and they'll all be available wherever you access your My Drive. Shared Drives work very similarly to your Google My Drive.
Learn more about using Shared Drives.
Learn more about Roles and Permissions in Shared Drives.

In this article you will learn:


Moving Multiple Files over from My Drive to a Shared Drive Efficiently

Managers of the Shared Drive decide, and have full control over, the folder structure so it is important to decide where files should go, what folders to recreate, and what should move over from a My Drive.  Please note that Managers can move files over and not folders from My Drive to a Shared drive.

Select multiple files using keyboard shortcuts for efficiency!

See this video: Moving Multiple files from My Drive to a Shared Drive 

 

Moving a File While Viewing It

You can save files to the Shared Drive while viewing them by clicking the Move button near the title of the document: 
" "

 

Downloading a My Drive File or Folder and Uploading it to a Shared Drive

You can download any file or folder that is shared with you in My Drive and then upload the folders and files to a Shared Drive.   

To download a folder or file right-click on it and select Download
" "
This will convert all Google native files (Documents, Slides, and Sheets) to it's compatable Microsoft file (Word, Powerpoint, and Excel).  This will not affect editing of these files.  You can edit a Word file just like you would edit a  Doc in Google Drive.

Note:  Downloading takes up space on your harddrive.  You will need to ensure you have enough free space for the download.

Then open your Shared Drive, right-click in the workspace area and upload file or folder
" "

 

Permissions: Share > "People with Access"

When you drag files over from My Drive to a Share Drive, they will 

  • RETAIN the editors, commenters, and viewers of the file (as Guests) and
  • GAIN the managers, members, contributors, and viewers of the Share Drive (as Members)
Please be assured:  No one loses access to files when they move from My Drive to a Shared Drive. 
Any members of the Shared Drive are added as Members to the document. You can click Share to look up Guests and Members.

" "

Additional Information


There are no additional resources available for this article.

Provide Feedback


Your feedback is important to us, help us by logging in to rate this article and provide feedback.

Sign in with NetID

Getting Help


The Division of Information Technology provides support on all of our services. If you require assistance please submit a support ticket through the IT Service Management system.

Submit A Quick Ticket

Supported By


Customer Engagement and Support