Delegating Google Contacts to Someone Else

You can give another Stony Brook University Google Account access to your mail and/or contacts.

Audience: Faculty, Staff and Students

This KB Article References: Google Contacts
This Information is Intended for: Faculty, Staff, Students
Last Updated: November 08, 2018

When you delegate someone access to your contacts, you give someone else access to the contacts in your My Contacts. That person would then view the delegated contacts in a separate section of their contacts.

You can only delegate access to contacts to someone else with a Stony Brook University Google Account.

Delegate Contacts

Delegate only the names/contact information for those in your My Contacts (but not any groups). Learn more

  1. Sign into Contacts at www.google.com/contacts
  2. Select MoreManage delegation settings
    More > Manage delegate settings
  3. In the Invite people box, enter the email address(es) of the user(s) you'd like to delegate your contacts to
  4. Click Send or Done

Access Contacts Delegated to You

  1. Sign into your contacts at www.google.com/contacts 
  2.  On the left, you'll see Delegated Contacts with the name of the contacts' owner (e.g., Nichole Gladky). Click a contact owner's name to view his/her contacts.
    Delegated contacts

Additional Information


There are no additional resources available for this article.

Getting Help


The Division of Information Technology provides support on all of our services. If you require assistance please submit a support ticket through the IT Service Management system.

Submit A Ticket

Supported By


Customer Engagement and Support