Upcoming Google Account Deletions and File Access Notifications

Published: October 19, 2026
Estimated Read Time: 1 minutes

Starting in January, we will begin deleting Google accounts that have been suspended for three or more years. To help ensure that no critical data or shared files are lost during this process, notifications will be sent to impacted users and collaborators ahead of time to a folder called "Shared with me" in November.

Ask yourself:

  • Who owns the files that I need?  
  • Where are they stored? 

You can find the answers to these questions by clicking on a file and viewing details.

Need to move files to a safe place?  Read a seawolf's guide to file ownership

For Help Please Contact


DoIT Service Portal
(631) 632-9800