Preventing and Managing Disruption in Zoom Sessions

Audience: Faculty and Staff

This KB Article References: Zoom, Zoom for Faculty
This Information is Intended for: Faculty, Staff
Last Updated: August 11, 2020
Average Rating: Not Rated
Your feedback is important to us, help us by logging in to rate this article and provide feedback.

Just like in person classes or meetings, Zoom session have their own disruptions. Familiarize yourself with these Zoom settings in particular to help prevent and manage disruptions:

Allow Only SBU Users - recommended for all classes

Manage Who Can Screen Share

Manage Who Can Unmute

Manage Participant Chat

Manage Disruptive Participants

Lock Meeting/Enable Waiting Room (so no one else can join)

Turn off Annotation

Allow Only SBU Users

To allow only Authenticate Users (to required SSO sign-on with NetID and NetID Password) so that only Stony Brook students, faculty, and staff can join:

  1. Sign into your Zoom account at stonybrook.zoom.us (once signed in, be sure to turn off any password managers like Lastpass, Dashlane)
  2. Select Meetings and under Upcoming Meetings select your scheduled course meeting (or the meeting you'd like to require authentication for)
  3. Scroll to the bottom and select Edit this Meeting
  4. Ensure that "Only authenticated users can join" is CHECKED (you should see Stony Brook Login and stonybrook.edu)
  5. Click Save

Manage Who Can Screen Share

By default, only host(s)/co-host(s) can share their screens in SBU Zooms. (Note: All participants can screen share in Zoom Breakout Rooms regardless of main room settings)

  1. To change/check the setting, the host should click Security and then under Allow participants to uncheck Share Screen
    allow or not screen share

Manage Who Can Unmute

Select whether participants can unmute themselves. (Note: All participants can unmute themselves in Zoom Breakout Rooms regardless of main room settings)

  1. To change/check the setting, click Security and uncheck Unmute Themselves under Allow participants to
    allow disallow unmute

Manage Participant Chat

Disable participant chat

Note: All participants can chat in Zoom Breakout Rooms regardless of main room settings

  1. Click Security and uncheck Chat under Allow participants to. With Chat unchecked under Security, the host/co-host can still send chat messages to participants but participants cannot send chat messages
    allow or not chat

Change who participants can chat with

  1. In the meeting controls at the bottom of the screen, click Zoom Chat button to open it
  2. Click the ... on the right side of where you type chat messages and select who participants can chat with: No one, Host only, Everyone publically, Everyone publically and privately

Manage Disruptive Participants

  1. Click Manage Participants, and in the Participants window, mouse over a participant’s name (you might need to click More), and several options will appear, including Stop Video, Attendee on Hold/in Waiting Room, Remove, Report a participant.  
  2. You'll also see the option to Mute an individual participant (next to the participant's name on mouse over) or Mute All (near the bottom).
    Note: all participants can unmute themselves in Zoom Breakout Rooms regardless of main room settings.
    remote report mute participant
  3. Turn off participant Chat

Lock Meeting/Enable Waiting Room

Once everyone is in your Zoom, you can lock it so no one else can enter. Another option is enabling the waiting room so anyone trying to enter has to be manually admitted by a host/co-host:

  1. Click Security and then check one or both: Lock Meeting (so no one else can enter) or Enable Waiting Room (so a host/co-host has to admit anyone trying to enter)
    lock meeting and enable waiting room
  2. Admit someone from the waiting room by clicking Participants.  Then, people in the waiting room appear at the top of hte participants lists. In the list of people waiting, click Admit next to one participant or Admit All

Turn off Annotation

When sharing your screen or whiteboard, host(s) and participants can use annotation to mark up the shared content. Enable or disable this while sharing screen/whiteboard while using annotation and clicking ...More  > Disable Attendee Annotation (or Enable Attendee Annotation to turn it on).

Additional Information


There are no additional resources available for this article.

Provide Feedback


Your feedback is important to us, help us by logging in to rate this article and provide feedback.

Sign in with NetID

Getting Help


The Division of Information Technology provides support on all of our services. If you require assistance please submit a support ticket through the IT Service Management system.

Submit A Ticket