Limiting Zoom Recordings When Participants Join Anytime

Audience: Faculty and Staff

This KB Article References: Zoom, Zoom for Faculty
This Information is Intended for: Faculty, Staff
Last Updated: February 10, 2021
Average Rating: Not Rated
Your feedback is important to us, help us by logging in to rate this article and provide feedback.

If your Zoom meeting options allow for participants to join any time and your zoom meeting is set to record automatically, you might find that you have multiple recordings for these meetings that you, as host, did not initiate.  For course or workshop meetings, student and participants might go into your meeting  early to check their connection.

You can uncheck the setting to prevent participants from entering all the way into the meeting (which will click on the recording):
1.  Go to the Zoom Web Portal at stonybrook.zoom.us 

2.  Hover over one of your meetings

3.  Click the Edit button

4.  Uncheck "Allow participants to join anytime"
""

5.  Save.

 

Participants can still check their connection, but it will not let them in and therefore start a recording.  They will see a message that says "Please wait, the host will let you in".

Additional Information


There are no additional resources available for this article.

Provide Feedback


Your feedback is important to us, help us by logging in to rate this article and provide feedback.

Sign in with NetID

Getting Help


The Division of Information Technology provides support on all of our services. If you require assistance please submit a support ticket through the IT Service Management system.

Submit A Ticket