Enabling Waiting Room in Zoom So Meeting Participants Can Only Join Once Admitted by a Host

Audience: Faculty, Staff and Students

This KB Article References: Zoom, Zoom for Faculty, Zoom for Students
This Information is Intended for: Faculty, Staff, Students
Last Updated: March 19, 2020

You can enable a Waiting Room function so participants can only join a Zoom Meeting once admitted by a host. You can Enable Waiting Room for Meetings or your Personal Meeting Room.

Once Waiting Room is enabled in a host's Zoom Meeting settings, in any specific meeting, participants will be put in the waiting room; however, the host can turn the waiting room off in any specific meeting and allow everyone in directly by opening the participant window, clicking More, and unchecking Put Participants in Waiting Room on Entry.
 

Enable Waiting Room

  1. Sign in to your Zoom web portal at stonybrook.zoom.us
  2. On the left, click Settings, and select Meeting at the top.
  3. Scroll down to the Waiting Room option under In-Meeting (Advanced) and then turn the setting on if it's not already

Learn more about setting up, using, and customized Waiting Rooms

 

Additional Information


Files & Links

Getting Help


The Division of Information Technology provides support on all of our services. If you require assistance please submit a support ticket through the IT Service Management system.

Submit A Ticket

Supported By


Customer Engagement and Support