Making a Blackboard Course Unavailable

Audience: Faculty, Staff and Teaching Assistants

This KB Article References: Navigate/Manage Your Course on Blackboard
This Information is Intended for: Faculty, Staff, Teaching Assistants
Last Updated: August 11, 2020
Average Rating: Not Rated
Your feedback is important to us, help us by logging in to rate this article and provide feedback.

When a course is created on Blackboard, the course is made available to students by default.  This gives the instructor the ability to upload documents, create assignments, set up their discussion boards and more. If you are not interested in using Blackboard at the start of every semester, instructors need to make their courses unavailable to students.

After logging into Blackboard, check the My Courses box.  If any of your courses say (unavailable) next to the course title, students will not see them when they log in.  To make a course unavailable, follow these directions:

1. Click on the name of your course in the My Courses module.
2. In the Control Panel on the lower left-hand side, select Customization, then Properties.

3. Scroll down to Set Availability.  Switch Make Course Available to No

4. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click Submit.

Additional Information


There are no additional resources available for this article.

Provide Feedback


Your feedback is important to us, help us by logging in to rate this article and provide feedback.

Sign in with NetID

Getting Help


The Division of Information Technology provides support on all of our services. If you require assistance please submit a support ticket through the IT Service Management system.

Submit A Ticket

Supported By


Academic Technology Services